Meet the Team

Early Stage Researchers will be added during 2016 as they are recruited.

The network is co-ordinated by the University of Sheffield.

 


ESR 1 - Alessandro Catanzaro

a.catanzaro@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield

 

 


ESR 2 - Luca Sortino

l.sortino@sheffield.ac.uk

University of Sheffield


 


ESR 3 - Alejandro Rodriguez

ar820@cam.ac.uk

University of Cambridge

 

ESR 4 - Najwa Sidqi

Helia Photonics 

Najwa.Sidqi@helia-photonics.com

My research topic focuses on the design and the fabrication of dielectric coatings to construct high reflectance mirrors for high-finesse microcavities. Deposition of dielectric materials is achieved using high-performance vacuum technologies, including Ion-Assisted electron beam and reactive sputtering. With the growing interest in high-Finesse cavities as single-photon sources for a wide range of applications such as medical imaging, astrophysics, quantum communication and quantum information, the challenge involved in my project is to provide very low-loss mirrors for an efficient cavity-based photon extraction technology.



ESR 5 - Andrii Volkovskyi

Andrii.Volkovskyi@wsi.tum.de

Technical University of Munich


 


ESR 6 - Matt Brooks

matthew.brooks@uni-konstanz.de

University of Konstanz

ESR 7 - Samarth Vadia 

attocube systems AG 

Samarth.Vadia@attocube.com

I am currently an Early Stage Researcher at attocube and I am affiliated with Prof. Högele’s group at LMU Munich for my PhD. My current research focus is on improving dry cryostat setup for scanning cavity experiments. These tunable cavities would be used to couple quantum emitters, e.g. transition metal dichalcogenides (TMDCs) or NV centers, and study their properties. 


 


ESR 8 - Marco Manca

manca@insa-toulouse.fr

National Centre for Scientific Research









ESR 9 - Riccardo Pisoni

pisonir@phys.ethz.ch

ETH Zürich


 

ESR 10 - Aroosa Ijaz 

ETH Zürich

aijaz@phys.ethz.ch

I am a PhD student in the Quantum Photonics Group at ETHZ. I am working on understanding the fascinating phenomena that occur in two dimensional semiconductor materials at quantum scale. The aim is not only to contribute to the existing knowledge in this field but also to tailor these materials for useful quantum devices. What motivates me is the opportunity to learn new things everyday that fuel my fierce passion for physics!

 


ESR 11 - Sigurd Flagan

sigurd.flagan@unibas.ch

University of Basel 



ESR 12 - Yanick Volpez

yanickandre.volpez@unibas.ch

University of Basel

 


ESR 13 - Valeria Cimini

v.cimini@tudelft.nl

Delft University of Technology


 


ESR 14 - Stephan Philips

S.G.J.Philips@tudelft.nl

Delft University of Technology

 


ESR 15 - Fabio Ansaloni

fabio.ansaloni@nbi.ku.dk

University of Copenhagen